Some Recent Tripadvisor Reviews

“What a great impromptu night!!

Fabulous evening at the pub – great staff, scrummy food, good price and fab company!
Met friends for a summer evening drink and Lyndsey (new’ish landlady) told us about the new chef and menu. Had a look and next thing we’re ordering food! We were not disappointed. Fresh and well cooked food. The homemade curry was delicious and the haloumi salad lovely. Lots available for both meat eaters and vegetarians – I’m having the haloumi salad next time for sure! We were so pleased we’ve booked Sunday lunch for this week as heard from a local that’s well worth it too! I was surprised to see the review about dirty chips, etc as ours was nothing like that. Plus they have a good house wine for a spritzer unlike other local pubs. So looking forward to my lunch on Sunday with homemade Yorkshire puds!!

SpritzerBlue

Reviewed June 2017

 

“Fathers day lunch”

Starters, Sunday roast and puds were fabulously yummy and really reasonably priced.
4 of us were fed well plus drinks for under £80.00, marvellous it was
Only complaint was wife didn’t have enough roast spuds (she does like her spuds)
Defiantly going back to this one.

John R

Reviewed June 2017

 

“Sausage and Cidef Festival”

Very successful event. Too successful, we arrived mid afternoon and no sausages left!! Had a burger instead. Ciders were ok, but would have preferred more traditional ciders than flavoured ones. Live band were lively. Ice cream van a bonus!!

Chris D

Reviewed May 2017

 

“Great food and staff”

Had an awesome visit. Very welcoming and the food!! Great chicken and mushroom pie and burger had and some excellent beverages! Worth a visit!!

Carl P

Reviewed May 2017

 

 

“Sunday lunch with lots of family & dog”

Wow, inspirational !!! This place does what it should do ie serve great Home Cooking with lovely friendly hospitality.
It is a quaint happy and real looking old fashioned village pub. It serves good ale and a lovely drop of Guinness. Plus the Sunday Roasts are delicious.
This is soon to be my regular go to eatery as the week day menu looks really inspiring, and everything is of very good value. May I 100% recommend this establishment.

Yourrrs

Reviewed May 2017

 

“Just Brilliant“

Yes I know that Mrs Auldbear and myself tend to bang on about dietary issues- but these folk were top drawer. Visit them to find out.

Auldbear

Reviewed April 2017

 

“FINALLY A PROPER PUB”

Finally a proper pub, took my dad here for a pint that turned into dinner and several pints. You know what the food isn’t the best in the world but it’s tasty and good value for money, but it’s a real pub run by real people, serving local beer to local people! This is what a pub should be like!! If you want a real pub experience, then here is the place to go!!

SPC242

Reviewed March 2017

“Sunday Roast ”

Fantastic food, generous portions, great service.. Save room for pudding! Had the chocolate brownie with raspberry coulis. Heavenly . 😇

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

 

“Sunday lunch with friends”

This is a very quaint old pub with lots of atmosphere, we was all made to feel very welcome by the bar staff on our arrival, and seated in their restaurant area which unlike some had spaces around the tables therefore was not overcrowded.
We could not fault the service we received and the food was of a high standard, in fact one of our group found it difficult to find anything suitable on the menu so the chef made her something else.

Visited January 2017

 

“Popped in for a quick lunch mid week. Had the steak with chips, it was lovely. Served by the young lad, very polite and efficient. Lovely little pub!!

Sheldon C”

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save