Some Recent Reviews

“Sunday Roast ”

Fantastic food, generous portions, great service.. Save room for pudding! Had the chocolate brownie with raspberry coulis. Heavenly . 😇

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

 

“Sunday lunch with friends”

This is a very quaint old pub with lots of atmosphere, we was all made to feel very welcome by the bar staff on our arrival, and seated in their restaurant area which unlike some had spaces around the tables therefore was not overcrowded.
We could not fault the service we received and the food was of a high standard, in fact one of our group found it difficult to find anything suitable on the menu so the chef made her something else.

Visited January 2017

 

“Popped in for a quick lunch mid week. Had the steak with chips, it was lovely. Served by the young lad, very polite and efficient. Lovely little pub!!

Sheldon C”

 

 “Highly recommended.”

16th century pub. Unspoilt and full of character. Staff friendly and accommodating. Excellent pub lunch very reasonably priced, (£7 including coffee) with unexpected extras. Ladies WC/ baby changing area amazing for a small country pub. Spotlessly clean and well equipped with fresh paper hand towels, and even a basket of emergency nappies and ladies items for those that needed them…… will definitely return if I come this way again.

Lis F

Visited November 2016

 

“Fabulous breakfast 🍳😀”

We needed a decent breakfast and The Four Horseshoes never let us down, 10 items for £6.95 free tea, coffee and toast, we had 2 bacon, 2 sausages, 2 eggs, black pudding, hash browns, beans & mushrooms and it beat me everything was tasty and cooked well, I will return!

 

Andy0949

Visited October 2016

 

First visit to this fine pub, primarily to listen to the jazz band. Enjoyed a good meal prior to the music – interesting menu and especially enjoyed the chicken pie. Salmon meal also looked good. Very welcoming pub with attentive staff. Oh and the local beer was pretty good too! Well worth a visit.

Nel95

Visited October 2016

 

“Evening meal”

Just come back from the four house shoes had dinner there with my brother the meal was lovely and staff friendly

Kim T

Visited September 2016

 
Much better than before!”

Good local pub, major improvements have been made with all aspects of the pub due to new management. Food is good, drinks good, good pub.

Carl E

Visited September 2016

 
“True Local Pub, Friendly to Visitors”

I have been to The Four Horseshoes every day since I have been visiting The Home Counties. I will be going back before I leave. The local ambience is noticeable, and the staff and locals alike engage in conversation, both young and not so young. The two staff members I have met have been incredibly welcoming. This is a place that visitors should keep on their radar. Just off the A33. Both food and drink excellent as well.

Gonzalo G

Manchester, United Kingdom. Visited August 2016

 

“Just the ticket!”

Went for lunch with group of friends after 8 mile walk. Sausage & mash with red wine gravy & peas was delicious. Sausages come from village shop across the road I understand. Three of us had that meal and all loved it. One had the pie of the day, chicken and mushroom. He is notoriously fussy but said it was the best he’s had. Beers lovely and clear and obviously well looked after. Landlady very welcoming and looked after us. Good value too. Proper village pub.

iamthedanger

Hannington, United Kingdom. Visited August 2016

 

“Friday social drink”

Nice little local pub.
The staff are very friendly and attentive.
A good selection of ales and beers.
A very relaxing atmosphere for a drink with friends at the end of the week.
Will try the food next time as the menu looked good.

basingstokebomber.

Basingstoke, United Kingdom. Visited August 2016

 

“Much Improved

“Went here to eat after a long break. The menu is simple pub fare with the usual dishes. There is a new chef who hasn’t been there very long so hopefully the menu may expand in time. I had the pie of the week which was very tasty and followed with sticky toffee pudding which was excellent. I’m delighted that the Horseshoes is back in the room and it’s still the best pint of Doombar in the area.

Weekteuchter” Reviewed April 2016

 

“I went to “the ‘shoes for sunday lunch while my wife and family were away for the weekend. Very nicely prepared standard sunday lunch fare, served by pleasant staff on a busy day. Very pleasant selection of veggies and good heart-warming desserts.
It’s my local and it has changed hands recently but the new landlords are easing their way in with a straightforward menu, generally well served.

Adrian” Reviewed April 2016

Save